My story, faithful friend, happy companion – a dog.

The Talk We Never Want to Have With Our Pets

Beloved and I are having the talk.
Not the talk about sex which you people have
The talk about life…… And death.
You see things are getting pretty hard for me at the moment
I have arthritis and the pills help with some of the pain but not all
I can cope with pain
I still enjoy my walk in the morning. Beloved goes very slowly and although I am limping by the time I get back to the house the vet has said it is good for me to exercise.
The Prednisone caused my muscles to waste and that didn’t help. All of a sudden from being a stiff Tibbie with a little arthritis I have gone to a Tibbie with a great deal of arthritis and overweight. Although the weight is coming off.
It is the itching that is the problem.
It seems to have got worse.
I cannot stop scratching, licking and biting.
It has never been this bad.
Beloved had to try my medication on every other day because of a growth on my gums but then the itch took over and now my paws are bleeding and I have sores on my tummy and around my mouth.
So we are having the talk.
She loves me.
She doesn’t want me to suffer.
I love her.
I am happy walking a little bit.
I am happy having my cuddles, although sometimes the itch even makes those uncomfortable.
I am happy with my meals and my treats.
But the itch is making me miserable and the pain and infections are increasing.
Beloved is looking into my eyes and we are trying to work it out.
I know she will be sad when the time comes. I will be sad, but I will also look back on a life of sausages and treats, cuddles and love and I will be at peace.
I wish I could talk out loud and share how I’m feeling, but all I can do is look back into her eyes and together we’ll work it out.
Today the sores are around my mouth and my ear infection has started up again
We have to talk.

74 responses

  1. Oh No. Me and Nellie are very sad to read about your health problems. We love your blog. Love Nellie and Jasper

    August 30, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    • Thank you guys. It is a difficult day as you can imagine.

      August 30, 2012 at 5:07 pm

  2. You make me cry, Zac. I’m so sorry for your pain :(

    August 30, 2012 at 5:40 pm

  3. Oh dear Zac – your problems do sound to be becoming a great burden to you. We hate to see suffering in our friends and you are so stoical. We send strength to you and Beloved.

    August 30, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    • Thank you. We are just back from the vets without our precious guy. He is at peace, we are devastated and the house seems empty.

      August 30, 2012 at 5:58 pm

      • How heartbreaking for you. Hugs to you all, especially Princess.

        August 30, 2012 at 6:02 pm

        • She is very quiet at the moment as she misses her pal. She has never been without him.

          August 30, 2012 at 6:47 pm

  4. I’m really sorry you are going though that, I don’t even know what to say, you’ve grown in me, this makes me sad.
    Love, Leo and Doggy.

    August 30, 2012 at 6:00 pm

    • Thanks Leo & Doggy, it is a sad time for us, we will miss our fellow a great deal.

      August 30, 2012 at 6:46 pm

      • Ohhh boy, this brings tears to my eyes.
        I’m really sorry, I know it’s little comfort but I deeply sympathize with your pain.

        August 30, 2012 at 7:32 pm

        • Thank you, all of us here love our furry pals and your understanding does help.

          August 31, 2012 at 7:17 am

  5. Lovely Zac – Bella and I are sending you our best dog vibes down the inter-web line. I hope you are not in too much pain. Please give Beloved a big lick from us – I’m sure she’s hurting just thinking about you being unhappy. X

    August 30, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    • Thanks for the licks and support. I’m afraid we had to make the decision to end Zac’s suffering this afternoon.

      August 30, 2012 at 6:46 pm

  6. OMG. I am so sorry to read this. I can’t even start to imagine the pain and sorrow you must be feeling. Our thoughts are with you at this time. You are so brave. Liz

    August 30, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    • Thanks Liz, Yes we are devastated. He was such a brave and cheeky little fellow, it doesn’t seem fair that he had so many health issues.

      August 30, 2012 at 6:48 pm

  7. I don’t know what to say. I’m so sorry, I’ll be thinking of you all.

    August 30, 2012 at 6:26 pm

    • Thanks, in so many ways it has been a while coming and yet we are also surprised that the decision came today.

      August 30, 2012 at 6:49 pm

  8. This is the worst day ever. I’m so very sorry xxx

    August 30, 2012 at 6:48 pm

  9. Oh, I don’t know what to say…I’m so sorry, I’ve just read the comments. our love and thoughts are with you. We haven’t been friends for long but in that short time, we have come to love you all. xx000xx

    August 30, 2012 at 7:01 pm

    • Thank you. Although you know this time will come and I have lost other dogs in the past, somehow Zac was special and this hurts.

      August 31, 2012 at 7:16 am

  10. That is so very moving, I have just discovered your blog and this single post has me hooked! Sending you both massive hugs at this time!

    August 30, 2012 at 7:26 pm

  11. :’( :’( :’( from all of us! We are so sad and so so sorry. We love you Zak. RIP beautiful boy. Sending your (and our) Beloveds heartfelt hugs. xoxoxoxox

    August 30, 2012 at 8:00 pm

  12. ZAC! XO

    August 30, 2012 at 8:06 pm

  13. You don’t know me and my Mom but we feel that we know you as we’ve seen Zac’s posts on other blogs we visit and have always thought your Zac was a very handsome guy. We read of your sadness on Mollie and Alfie’s blog this morning and just had to come by to say how sorry we are for your loss….we’re sure Zac is keeping watch over you from the Rainbow Bridge now – where he’s happy, healthy, and running without pain from his arthritis. My Mom knows how hard it is to say goodbye….even when it’s the kindest, best thing a human can do for us – so we wanted to stop by and give you a hug. Hugs help.

    Sammy and his Mom

    August 30, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    • Thank you so much. He is out of pain and that is good, but our pain has just begun, thank you for the hugs.

      August 31, 2012 at 7:18 am

  14. We are all so very, very sorry you had to leave sweet Zac. We send many purrs and hugs to your loving family.

    August 30, 2012 at 8:35 pm

  15. I sit here, with tears for your pain, knowing there is nothing I can do except to let you know that our thoughts are with you and we understand the sorrow and heartache. None of this helps to make it easier for you. No words can make the pain go away. I pray that God will give you strength and the knowledge that, even though so far away, you have captured our hearts and our sympathy for you is as real as if you were here, right next to me.

    August 30, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    • Thank you so much, it is overwhelming to know that so many have been touched by Zac and his whimsies. It helps to have the understanding of others who love their pets as we loved Zac.

      August 31, 2012 at 7:20 am

      • Just checking in to see how you are. I know this is such a difficult time. We are all still thinking of you. God Bless and give you strength.

        September 1, 2012 at 6:14 pm

        • Thank you. I appreciate your concern and care. It is harder than I could have imagined. I see him in my mind in all of his favourite places and it breaks my heart that he has gone. If I could go back a few days I might not have made the same decision, but I know that that would have been so selfish of me when his little body was struggling so much.

          September 1, 2012 at 6:44 pm

          • I know how you feel, about wanting to go back a few days. I had that with my Dalmation. I still mess her to this day but I do realise I made the right decision for her. So much of the grief does feel selfish but you need to go through all those emotions. My heart aches for you. Just know that you are in my thoughts and prayers. I wish there was something more I could say to help the pain.

            September 2, 2012 at 6:36 pm

            • Thank you. Just having a ‘doggy’ community who really does understand helps. Those who don’t love our dogs in the same way think I’m crazy!! I’ve wondered. Zena didn’t cry last night for the first time since he’s been gone, but she is still crying through the day at times. I keep seeing him under my desk, on his mat, bringing me Big Dog and it hurts that he isn’t there any more.
              I took Zena out in the car yesterday and I remembered how we had to use the child lock on the windows because he used to step on them and put the back windows fully down so he could lean out!
              I do thank you for your sympathy and understanding. I know the hurt will grow less and although I keep wanting to go back I was looking at photographs of him just over a year ago and the difference in him was sad. I guess we could have hung on, could have treated this latest infection, could have put him through more and part of me wishes we had but most of me knows it wasn’t fair. To the end he was enjoying his treats and I’d actually baked him sausages and made sure he got all the cuddles. I think we both knew it was coming because he seemed to want more cuddles too.
              I’m sorry for everyone who has to go through this but the alternative is to protect ourselves by never having a pet and not loving. My final tribute to my funny little fellow is to grieve over him, he deserves that.
              Thank you – Vivien

              September 3, 2012 at 9:12 am

  16. Zac I love you and I will miss you….

    August 30, 2012 at 9:15 pm

  17. Oh nooooo Zac……I feel awful. I thanked you for the award today on my blog. I didn’t realize you were so sick. Oh no. I feel awful. Mom and I have broken hearts. I just don’t know what to say. I wish there were something that we could do. We are so sad :( Barks and licks and love, Dakota and Mom

    August 30, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    • It crept up on all of us. Yes, he was struggling with one thing after another but we didn’t know that today would be the final straw. Thank you for mentioning him and I hope his stories will have a little place in your memories.

      August 31, 2012 at 7:24 am

  18. I did not know Zac, my loss. What a previous doggie, and so brave and loving. I just came over from Mollie and Alfie and know he has gone now OTRB. Your conversation is so moving. Healing purrrrrs for family. Savannah

    August 31, 2012 at 12:22 am

    • Thank you Savannah. We will take everything we can get at the moment because it is a very hard time.

      August 31, 2012 at 7:24 am

      • We know about the feelings in a time of loss of fur family…Mom and Dad lost all 3 cats before me in less than one year. I don’t think any one of them wanted to live any more without the others. They were all 17 years old…it is still hard…but I try to make it better…

        August 31, 2012 at 7:35 am

  19. This is hitting too close to home. I’m ten and if I get to 13 that will be fantastic.

    August 31, 2012 at 12:38 am

    • I hope you make it to 15 or above! Hang on and keep well.

      August 31, 2012 at 7:25 am

  20. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

    Misaki told us about your sad loss. So very sorry. Soft woos and gentle hugs from all of us.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

    August 31, 2012 at 12:51 am

  21. RA

    Soft husky wooooos,

    RA, Isis & Nanük

    August 31, 2012 at 12:54 am

  22. I am so sorry. We are all leaky eyes here. We loved Zac. We know it is much more difficult for you though.
    We also know that he was loved by his family and he is taking those precious moments with him. The pain is gone for him now and he can play forever and ever OTRB.
    We send many hugs and purrs.

    August 31, 2012 at 1:06 am

    • I know you have had your own recent grief. Perhaps even now Zac is meeting Grouik and exchanging wise tales. Wouldn’t that be wonderful?

      August 31, 2012 at 7:27 am

  23. Oh poor Zac. Sleep peacefully furfriend. May you run happily and pain free across the rainbow bridge. A bridge where you will sadly encounter Bingo who also had the talk with Mummy after he became more and more unwell. Nothing more could be done but the world seems emptier without his big pigsonality. Losing you as well has well and truly shattered us. It is so unfair. It was so sudden for both of you. Take care of each other.

    Nibbles, Nutty & Buddy
    xxx

    ps. Mummy says to pass on her condolences, she know how hard and horrible it is when everything reminds them of you and that lump in your throat just won’t go. :(

    August 31, 2012 at 1:46 am

    • Thank you. I thought of you yesterday and what a sad week it has been for us. I am glad Zac is out of pain, and the same for Bingo. But the gap is there and at the moment there is just constant reminders that he is gone.

      August 31, 2012 at 7:29 am

  24. Terrible news. We are sending our love and thoughts to you and hope that you take comfort in the good memories and happy times.

    August 31, 2012 at 2:58 am

    • Yes, we had lots of great memories with our little fellow and once the pain has dulled a little we will be able to remember him without tears.

      August 31, 2012 at 7:29 am

  25. I’m so sorry its the worst thing ever.

    August 31, 2012 at 4:28 am

  26. We just came from Mollie and Alfie’s blog. We are so sorry for your loss. We wish that we could have gotten to know Zac. We wanted you to know that you’re in our thoughts and prayers. Godspeed, Zac.

    Mitch, Molly and Sue

    August 31, 2012 at 4:49 am

    • Thank you. I wish you could have known him too, and I wish he’d had longer with us but if he’d been with us for 20 years the pain couldn’t have been greater.

      August 31, 2012 at 7:30 am

  27. Oh my friend, I feel so very sad for you. I have been there before, and I know that in all likelihood I’ll be there again eventually with Rumpy. I hope our being here is a comfort for you.

    August 31, 2012 at 9:06 am

    • It is a huge comfort to have the support of those who understand and love their furry friends. I too have lost pals before but I have never felt this level of grief before. Zac was my special boy and he had too short a time.

      August 31, 2012 at 9:21 am

  28. We feels your grief. We stall has a big hole where Sam and Licorice amd Kokanee, and the others who have gone before, in our hearts. The joy they give us is beyond words, as is the pain we feel when they leave us.
    We send yous healing purrayers and head butts
    Nellie, Kozmo, the hairy slobbery sisters – Bob and Cinnamon and Mommy

    August 31, 2012 at 11:19 am

    • Thanks all, I need all the purrayers, head butts and slobbers today, as does The Princess who is very sad.

      August 31, 2012 at 1:29 pm

  29. joulesandprescott

    Oh Zac. We just found your lovely blog and now we have to say “see you later”. We are very sad for all of you to hae to separate from one another so soon. At least you don’t hurt or itch anymore, and this is what we will tell ourselves.
    We miss you already, Zac.
    Joules & Prescott

    August 31, 2012 at 3:48 pm

    • Yes, he is out of discomfort and pain, our pain starts now but we have great memories of a special pal.

      August 31, 2012 at 5:25 pm

  30. I am so sad I didn’t have a chance to say good bye to Zac. I’m still trying to catch up with everything.

    Will miss you, my friend

    September 12, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    • Not only did I miss Zac, but I also missed our ‘pet’ community out there who have all been so caring and supportive, so that is why I began the Princess Tails, but I couldn’t continue on Zac’s blog. This is to him my very wise and special Tibbie.

      September 12, 2012 at 4:02 pm

      • Kitty hugs to you

        September 13, 2012 at 11:50 am

        • Kitty hugs sound soft and furry, thank you :-)

          September 13, 2012 at 7:57 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers