My story, faithful friend, happy companion – a dog.

Dreams and Goals

I am a loyal Tibbie. I acknowledge that I am a lucky Tibbie. I love my family and even though we are a small pack we all get along well. I have told you a little about my family through these chats. You know that I live with Beloved, her beloved and The Princess (aka Zena) who is my niece.

This is the core of my family.

I am a contented Tibbie who eyes with concern Beloved’s regular scanning of property pages and constant renovations of house and garden. Things are great as they are. I’ve already moved homes once in my life and I don’t want any more change. I am a happy Tibbie. I like my garden and whilst I don’t mind the changes that Beloved’s beloved has made I don’t really see why they can’t leave things as they are.

Although I have to admit that it was great yesterday when Beloved’s beloved was kind enough to unearth an old bone as he was moving some plants around. Wasn’t that good of him? And he let me keep it even though The Princess kept looking at him and back at me trying to will him to take it from me. Ha!

Me in the garden with the old bone

I have to face the fact that Beloved actually likes change. She likes to travel and she enjoys living in other countries. She likes to live in different cultures, so does her beloved and so do her sons.

I don’t, so I am glad that for the moment they are in Australia to stay. I am a sensitive Tibbie and foreign food might upset me.

I would not have enjoyed moving all the time, that is not my dream and it would make me uncomfortable and as you know I am a Tibbie who likes to be comfortable.

All this garden change has made me think about goals and dreams and what happens when a family doesn’t have the same dream?

I suppose that normally the big things are talked about when you first get to know another. When I chat to friends in the park we cover likes and dislikes and you know pretty quickly who you want to be friends with and who you will probably never really get on with.

For instance we know a Collie called Roxy. We meet up at the park and have a sit down together. She only likes to run around and play with the big dogs so I know we will never be great pals because I won’t grow anymore now, at least not upwards!

This is me at the park watching Roxy and the big dogs run.

The Princess has a good friend who is a little smaller than her, they love to run and growl and sound fierce at each other because they are actually both softies and they know that neither of them will hurt the other. They are compatible.

Then there are the dogs I talk too who boast about the people they’ve frightened or the times they’ve torn up the kitchen units. I tend to keep away from those dogs, I am a well brought up Tibbie and I have no desire to chew furniture or bite people. I never have. It is not part of my nature and because it is not part of my nature I could never make a pack with a dog who was like that. I would find it too stressful. I like my peace and the one thing I really don’t like is making Beloved cross or upset.

Sometimes though it seems that humans aren’t able to work that out before they form a pack. Maybe if they had a better sense of smell?

Many times they form a pack believing they have the same dreams, aspirations and hopes for their lives and then a short time afterwards they find they don’t really. This must be very difficult. It would make me very miserable to live in a pack with a dog who was constantly wanting to do something I didn’t want to do and I suppose it must make people miserable too. It would make me sad.

Beloved was lucky and I guess her beloved was too. They met and both realised that they had the same desire to travel and live in different countries and they have done it. They talk about it together often and they don’t regret any of it. It was what they both wanted. Now they want to stay at home with me – well that’s my dream anyway.

The Princess and I sometimes play a game where we both get hold of a toy and pull it. Of course we don’t get anywhere. I am stronger so I just sit down and let her tug and tug.

I think life can get like that for some people. They are both pulling in opposite directions and they end up not getting anywhere and one or both will get frustrated.

Dreams are good things but they can also cause problems.

Sometimes dreams are unrealistic and they will stay just dreams. I faced the fact early on that the dream I had of running with the greyhounds at the reserve would always stay a dream. It was unrealistic. I can’t fight my own nature. I am a stocky, slow moving Tibbie who does not run like the wind.

Sometimes something happens that means we have to settle for less, perhaps illness or financial pressures. Because of my bad muscles I cannot walk and walk for miles or even run a little, so my dreams are more about napping and eating now. I have learnt to have a more practical dream.

Sometimes people dream about something and when they get there they find they don’t really like it at all. It was like that for me and The Princess. I dreamt of having a pal but when I had one all the time it wasn’t what I expected. I had to make sacrifices. I can’t have Beloved’s lap all the time. I have to share my treats and although she doesn’t play with Big Dog often, I still have to share him with her.

Sometimes dreams need to be put on hold because other things get in the way. I guess it is a wise Tibbie and a wise person who knows when a dream needs to be put on hold or when you need to be tenacious and hold onto it. I hold onto my dreams of eating a sausage and now and again I am rewarded.

Sometimes we just need to relax and understand that it is going to take us longer to get there than we thought, or the route we need to take is different than we imagined.

And then sometimes our dreams change because we change. I am not the same Tibbie Beloved picked up from the breeder eight years ago. Because of that my dreams today are different. I appreciate different things. I still dream of sausages but I dream of yogurt too!

When I was little I was very sure of myself and the way things should be. Now I am older I realise that sometimes we get surprised by life.

The Princess was a surprise to me! I didn’t want responsibility and she changed a lot of things. I suppose some of them might be positive, but I can’t think of them at the moment. Wait – maybe not being alone at night, that’s the one positive.

In the meantime though I hope that Beloved continues to just look at these houses for sale and doesn’t decide to move us again. And whatever dreams you have, I hope they are ones that will make you happy because I am a Tibbie who likes to see everyone happy.

My dream is for stability, safety and comfort and that is a dream I can achieve. In fact, I will achieve it now by finding my sunny spot and having my nap.

Me on my favourite chair

6 responses

  1. As usual great post!
    I’ll send the link to someone who’ll love it.

    May 22, 2012 at 6:19 am

  2. Zac – sometimes change can be good. Sometimes you can end up with a bigger yard with more old bones to discover….

    May 22, 2012 at 8:52 am

    • I hadn’t looked at it like that. A bigger yard and more bones……. Okay, you’ve convinced me. When can we move?

      May 22, 2012 at 8:55 am

  3. Whee don’t like change either but recently Mummy tried us with new bedding and it was better than the old stuff.

    Sometimes change is scary but that doesn’t mean there shouldn’t be any change.

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

    May 22, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    • You have a point Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy. I like going on holiday with Beloved and her beloved. That is change. We go to a different house and have different beds to lie on. I guess as long as I am with Beloved I can cope with any change.

      May 22, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Leave a Reply

