My story, faithful friend, happy companion – a dog.

The Internet, Friendship & Love

When I first persuaded Beloved to write down my thoughts I had no idea that we would meet so many interesting online friends.

I like it.

Much is spoken of in the media about the advantages and disadvantages of online connections and of course there can be negative relationships over the internet as well as at the dog park. I have been lucky, all of my connections have been positive ones.

I am a very friendly Tibbie with an interest in others. I am a watcher and a listener. And if I can do that from the comfort of my soft bed, great.

With the internet I can learn about the lives of others and hear about their experiences without getting my paws wet or missing a treat.

What is not to like about that?

I have my physical contacts too. I have Beloved to sit on and cuddle me. I have her beloved to play with. I even have The Princess if I’m desperate or cold (after a haircut you understand).

Then I have the extended family. Beloved’s sons and their families occasionally, and my pals at the dog park not forgetting Prissy Paws (aka Devon) who lives with Beloved’s parents.  He is around too often to forget!

I also have a couple of very handsome looking French cousins who I’ve never met but who I think I would get on with. Judging by their comfortable beds I think we would have a lot in common. If it wasn’t for the internet I wouldn’t know as much about their lives.

My French Cousins Boodle & Dunthorne preparing for a road trip in style.

Here are some other friends I have met online who you might like to check out. Maybe you know them already.

There is Bella the very attractive poodle. You can find mention of her and her family here: http://thissydneylife.wordpress.com/

One of my first followers and encourager was a guinea pig. Yes, you heard it, a guinea pig. I didn’t know there was such a thing either, but apparently there are at least four and you can read about their lives here: http://hutchagoodlife.wordpress.com/

Love of A Dog had me a little worried with the blog ‘Cooking with Puppies’ but when I realised that puppies were helping and not the ingredient I was reassured. I think I would enjoy cooking and have been trying to tell Beloved that I would love to help her with the roast chicken she’s planning for tomorrow, for some reason she is hesitant. You can find this animal lover’s blog here: http://theloveofadog.wordpress.com/

One I have just discovered is about Willy the Wheaten Terrier and Casey, a Standard Poodle. As you may know I have a weakness for Standard Poodles after my cousin Bella so I am very interested in watching Casey grow up and Willie hates the rain almost as much as I do. If you want to pop in and see them, they are here: http://adayinthelifeoftwodogs.wordpress.com/

I don’t know much about cats. I did know a cat when I was a puppy, before I came to my forever home with Beloved but I haven’t had much to do with them since which is why I enjoy the blog from fostrickson about the dogs Mylo and Toady who live with Odin the cat and that Odin sounds like a handful! http://fostrickson.wordpress.com/

When I want a smile I go to Yoga Dog Blog and see what Rosie has to say. http://yogadogblog.wordpress.com/

One which I have found recently is a very handsome Pyrenean Mountain Dog called Clowie. Clowie is just the kind of dog that Beloved adores so I am very pleased that Clowie is an online friend and not a dog park friend because I do get just a little bit concerned when I find Beloved throwing her arms around these huge dogs. http://clowiescorner.wordpress.com/

I have to mention another blog which I have recently connected with. This is another Tibetan Terrier. Amazing isn’t it? Another Tibbie on the Internet and what’s more this one is actually called Tibby and she looks very sweet. http://justatibetanpup.blogspot.com.au/2012/05/shoot.html

One of the things that made me think about my online friends today is the news that a friend of Beloved’s Number 1 son has just had her second book published.

As you may know. Beloved’s sons travel a lot and live in other countries. Whilst Number 1 son was living in Papua New Guinea (I think it rains a lot there so I wouldn’t like it), he shared a house with a guy called Mike who became a good friend. At the time Mike was dating Lisa via the internet.

Lisa being a writer has put this story into a book which is now available. http://www.lisamckaywriting.com/love-at-the-speed-of-email-just-released/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=love-at-the-speed-of-email-just-released

I may get Beloved to read it to me whilst I have my nap she bought the Kindle version 🙂

10 responses

  1. Thanks for sharing my blog! Glad that you enjoy it!

    June 12, 2012 at 2:01 am

    • It was my pleasure. I am a dog who is a watcher, a listener and now a reader. I enjoy the adventures of Mylo, Toady and am fascinated by Odin not having a cat in my life 🙂 Have a lovely day

      June 12, 2012 at 8:15 am

  2. Bella says ‘Woof!’ 🙂

    June 12, 2012 at 8:58 am

    • Woof and I’ll raise you a nuzzle 🙂

      June 12, 2012 at 9:27 am

      • Bella is a great nuzzler, Zac. She does have a tendency to stick her tongue in if you are not careful, tho’ 🙂

        June 12, 2012 at 9:33 am

  3. I already follow some of the blogs your mentioned, I gotta check the rest.
    I’m fairly new to this too, but so far so good. You learn a lot.

    June 12, 2012 at 9:16 am

    • We’re new to this too. It is quite an adventure finding out what’s out there.

      June 12, 2012 at 9:28 am

  4. Wowee! Thanks for the mention. Yup whee guinea piggies exist. Whee love reading your blog and discovering more about dogs. Whee find you a fascinating species!

    Nibbles, Nutty, Bingo & Buddy
    xxxx

    June 13, 2012 at 9:45 am

    • I keep telling The Princess that the Internet is educational. She says it’s a waste of time! We have proved her wrong.

      June 13, 2012 at 10:00 am

Leave a Reply

