My story, faithful friend, happy companion – a dog.

Double or Nothin’ Dreaming

Okay. I have finally managed to find time away from the hawk-like gaze of The Princess and have the peace I need to sort out the thoughts in my head and what I want to share today.

If Zena knows I am posting again, she will want to write something so I’ll keep quiet.

It has to be said though, because I am a fair-minded Tibbie, that I enjoyed her blog.

It was her.

Believe me. I know. I live with it all the time. That stuff goes on in her head and the rest is cotton wool. It doesn’t stay in her head either which would be fine. No. She doesn’t stop telling me every fleeting thought, or idea that she has and she has to share everything that she sees.

She hardly every stops.

When she’s awake she flits from one idea to the next, one feeling to the next without a pause.

Sometimes I am left high and dry wondering what she is barking at now or why she has rushed off and what on earth is in her brain?

Then I am left to conclude – not a lot! Exhausted, I trundle back inside to my bed and just wait for her to run out of energy.

I am not being mean but Beloved and I do a lot of her thinking for her so she just gets to be…..The Princess. Feckless, fun, friendly and foolish.

She doesn’t need to grow up because we keep her as the baby of the family.

I have tried to tell Beloved she should have more responsibility. Maybe face the consequences of her actions sometimes.

Even the dogs at the dog park all seem to just shake their heads when she zooms at them barking and then wag their tails. They know she is no threat to them. They can see right through her and most of them just see a black, fluffy dog with bright shiny eyes and a happy personality and they end up smiling at her. If she wasn’t so cute she might have to face some repercussions, and maybe it would be good for her but on the other hand, maybe she would lose some of that trusting, happy nature and that would be sad.

It doesn’t matter though because my wisdom often falls on deaf ears. …..Sigh….. Being ignored is the destiny of the wise I find.

But, as I mentioned, I did enjoy parts of her blog. I had forgotten she was called Ladyhawk by our birth kennel. I had to sit down for a while and rack my brains about my name and then I remembered.

I was called ‘Double or Nothin’.

Cool or what?

Double or Nothin’.

It’s like 007.

Spy Tibbie.

Mystery Mutt.

Debonair Dog.

It would look great in lights.

Double or Nothin’ – a finely tuned machine waiting to spring into action!

I can see myself now, sitting in the window, watching, waiting, on guard. Looking out for the guys to abseil down the side of the building so that I can run to warn Beloved.

Or checking out the pedestrians walking past the house and seeing if they’re packing (remember I watch a lot of television!).

Double or Nothin’ on bodyguard duty over The Princess (it may look like I’m lying down on the job, but I am poised, every brain cell alert and ready to act).

I could be like that dog on TV, Rex.

I could fight crime, helping Beloved bring order to the chaos that is Mount Eliza Village. Patrol the sausage sizzle stores, check out the cakes at the coffee shop, clear up after the toddler tantrums of lost ice-creams and lollies.

Double or Nothin’ – On the scent.

I could catch the bad guys, putting them behind bars and suavely strolling off with a long-legged blonde (how do you feel about a date Clowie?),  tucking into a plate of sausages knowing that the day was a triumph and the world a safer place because of…..(dramatic music)….. Double or Nothin’.

Double or Nothin’ For your eyes only!

Well a dog can dream. Dreaming is good. The first step to greatness begins with a dream. Many have dreamt of fantastic inventions and been laughed at, just like The Princess laughs at me.

So now I don’t share my dreams with her. I will keep them to myself and enjoy them privately.

I will enjoy my dreams in the secrecy of my own imagination.

And talking of dreams, it is time for my mid morning nap in the sun before Beloved gets lunch and I hope to dream about being that sophisticated, elegant Tibetan, Double or Nothin’. Hero Hound, Terrible Terrier, Powerful Pooch…..zzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Double or Nothin’ dreaming.

10 responses

  1. Do save enough time in your action packed life, Double or Nothing, to have some quality naps. An international crime fighter can’t function well without them 😉

    July 9, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    • Great reminder! I shall make sure I am well prepared for any emergency 🙂

      July 9, 2012 at 5:23 pm

  2. Patrolling the sausage stores needs dedication, and if you can’t patrolling them, eat them double portion or nothing lol.

    July 10, 2012 at 3:48 am

    • I see you understand the problem. Believe me I am up to it. I have spent years in training just for this moment – I can do it, I am ready.

      July 10, 2012 at 6:11 am

  3. I like your name and I totally understand the concept of looking asleep, but not missing anything that’s happening and being ready to spring into action.
    Are you flirting with me?

    July 11, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    • When I’m Double or Nothin’… I flirt and I am rather partial to blondes, my favourite cousin Bella (a Standard Poodle, sadly now deceased) was a beautiful apricot blonde with long legs and a beautiful nature and you remind me a lot of her. She could have had the sausage from my plate, mainly because she was three times my size and I couldn’t stop her!
      In my dreams I am irresistible.
      In life….not so much. I’m cute – it is a very definite handicap to flirting.

      July 11, 2012 at 10:18 pm

      • I’ll let you into a little secret. Ladies with more than fluff between their ears, rarely find the gentlemen who think they are irresistible to be very interesting at all. Have fun in your dreams! I don’t suppose you have any sausages at the moment?

        July 11, 2012 at 10:45 pm

        • Clowie, I think we could be friends 🙂
          No sausages but some wicked uncooked minced beef which Beloved is giving me, she thinks I don’t notice the pill in the middle what she doesn’t realise is that I don’t care!! Minced beef is minced beef right?

          July 12, 2012 at 9:10 am

          • Yes, they’ll make us take the pill anyway, so we may as well get the treat with it. Minced beef? I’m just drooling a little.

            July 12, 2012 at 5:00 pm

            • Yep, I’m with you. Gotta have the pill, don’t make it too easy. Insist on something for being good-ish!
              Just heading over to your place Clowie to hear about your cat pal. Should be educational I know very little about cats, though I understand Beloved had a couple once.

              July 12, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Leave a Reply

