My story, faithful friend, happy companion – a dog.

Family Love

Beloved had a birthday over the weekend and it was great. She enjoyed it. We enjoyed and we hope everyone involved enjoyed it too.

As I’ve mentioned before Beloved is very careless with her sons. They are often in different countries and it isn’t because they’re running away from her or anything. Or at least I don’t think they are!

However, for this birthday everyone was here in Melbourne, Australia. Beloved was thrilled. AJ (number 2 son) came over from Indonesia where he is living with L because of their work and T hasn’t left Melbourne for his next post overseas yet so he was around with his family.

This is me, totally unimpressed with the candle that Beloved got for her birthday, she seemed to like it but I shall have to let them know that for my birthday I expect edible all the way!

Of course she got some great presents, or at least she liked them. I think sausages and bones would have been more appropriate. The chocolates smelt interesting but The Princess and I aren’t allowed to eat chocolate on account of it being bad for us.

Like Beloved, we were more excited about the people and it made me think about the importance of our families.

We have a small family. Beloved has a brother in the UK and then she has her parents, her beloved and her two sons. No cousins, no aunts and uncles, no nephews and nieces.

My natural family is huge but I have to say since I left I haven’t really thought about them very much. I wasn’t too attached to my two brothers and only have a vague recollection of one of them being golden and the other black like me. And of course one whined a lot which is why we called him Whimpers.

The black brother produced The Princess so she is my niece, this means I have a member of my blood family and my adopted family so I think I am probably a lucky Tibbie. I live in a modern blended family!

The Princess, you can see the family likeness and I am ashamed to say that sometimes Beloved has had to look twice at us to see which is which. I am more of a silver and I have more gravitas.

I hear from some of the dogs at the park who have very large families and that must be really great. I would like that a lot, I think most dogs (except Prissy Paw) would enjoy large, expansive family gatherings with lots of barbecues and baby-licks running around dropping biscuits and other ‘forbidden’ foods.

Even as I talk about it my mouth is watering at the thought.

We’re not huge but we have grown a little in the last few years. Since T married he brought A and M (or Magic as they like to call her) into our lives and that has really livened things up and made for more exciting visits.

Magic came to Beloved’s birthday dinner and I thought it was very unfair that The Princess and I had to stay at home. In France I am told that dogs can go into restaurants and I think that is only right. After all, we are family too.

I love having the family together. I will even suffer Prissy Paws. As far as I’m concerned the more the merrier and there is always the chance that someone will drop a piece of something delicious on the floor over dinner, though it is always more of a wish than a reality.

One guess as to why I call her ‘The Princess’

Family is more important than being able to throw a big party at a special event. A loving family can be at your side when things are difficult and when things are going well.

Beloved and my family are there for me. If I am sick, one of them will help to take me to the vet and help give me the medicine and look after me.

If Beloved and her beloved go away and for some reason cannot take us, T, A & Magic will look after The Princess and I.

Families help each other out. Friends are important too, but if we are lucky enough to have a loving family we should treasure them. I have heard some sad stories which seem to show that not all families do love each other. That is very sad and I am pleased and aware that I am a very privileged Tibbie to have a loving family. I like to think I make it more loving and add my amount of support and comfort too.

I can honestly say that I would not be the amazing Tibbie I am today if it hadn’t been for Beloved, her beloved and our family. They took me in as a little pup and showed me how to behave. Although I did have to do a little educating of them myself, but then families learn from each other!

I am not quite sure where she went wrong with The Princess, I think she spoilt her and I was a little indulgent too, so we both bear the blame for her.

Beloved is an anchor for us. Like little people we feel safe and nurtured when we have an understanding of our boundaries and what she expects from us. The Princess and I are Tibbies who like our routine and we feel safe when we follow that routine, we know what is coming next, when our next meal is coming and that is a comfort to a Tibbie with a hollow tummy.

I am glad that I can stay with Beloved forever. I don’t have to leave and work or move out to start a family. My job is as a companion to Beloved. I understand what she likes and my needs are tied up in hers. I am happy when she is happy.

I realise that I would have been a very different Tibbie if I had been brought up in another family. I may not have been a bad Tibbie, but I wouldn’t have been the Tibbie I am today. I am special.

I am glad we have a family who can come together and be happy. I think it is important to spend time together to build a strong family. The Princess and I are together all the time and although I mock her I wouldn’t want anything to hurt or frighten her.

Sometimes it’s important to be honest with each other or misunderstandings can grow and become problems. For a while I would get upset with The Princess when she turned my taking Big Dog to Beloved into a tug of war game. It isn’t a game.

Eventually I explained that it wasn’t a toy she realised I was serious and now when we greet Beloved in the morning she leaves me to bring Big Dog to and she goes to get baby, a toy she plays with or doesn’t bother taking anything and just lies waiting for Beloved to cuddle her!

Greeting Beloved in the morning

That’s how a family should work. Listen to the needs of each other and try to accommodate them. Of course when The Princess whines for my dinner I let her know that that is unacceptable, family members shouldn’t take advantage of the kindness of others!

As I get older I feel so much safer knowing that Beloved is there to take care of me. As I’ve had my health issues, I appreciate not having to worry about how I’m going to cope and the stress of finding my own food, or having to worry about being bullied by those who are stronger (horrible I know but believe me it happens). I know my family is there to protect me and look out for me.

I don’t enjoy having bad days when my joints don’t work or my skin is itchy, but when I’m really feeling uncomfortable I go to Beloved and somehow she knows and does her best to make it better and if she can’t make it go away completely she certainly gives me lots of cuddles so that I don’t feel anxious and that helps me to feel better.

I am a family Tibbie. I love my family. I love my family being all together and I miss them when they are not under the same roof but the nice thing about them traveling is the excitement I feel when they come back to visit again.

I am hoping Beloved has another birthday very, very soon but for some reason she seems to be happy to wait another year for her birthday.

So that is my thought for today. I hope all of you out there have families who love and protect you too and that you love being a part of them.

The Princess and I have had our walk and being safe in the comfort of my home and the centre of my small family I shall now relax and have my morning nap and perhaps I will dream of gatherings to come, perhaps I can persuade Beloved to have a sausage sizzle one weekend. I’m sure all the family would want to join in for that.

Me. Signing off and zoning out 🙂

12 responses

  1. Best wishes to your Beloved, to have such a wonderful family is the greatest gift ever…

    July 31, 2012 at 4:51 pm

  2. How very lucky you are Zac to have all that close family about you that you can even think warm thoughts about Prissy Pants. Beloved is multi blessed too 🙂

    July 31, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    • Yes indeed. I am lucky and it is easier to have warm thoughts about Prissy Pants when he’s somewhere else! Beloved keeps telling me she’s lucky and as she is always truthful (after all she tells me I’m special, wise, clever and gorgeous all the time), I think she does feel blessed 🙂

      July 31, 2012 at 6:54 pm

  3. Happy birthday to Beloved 🙂

    July 31, 2012 at 8:18 pm

  4. Belated Birthday wishes to your beloved! This was a wonderful post. Sadly, my family is the poster child of dysfunction BOL

    August 1, 2012 at 1:37 am

    • Thanks for that Dakota. No idea why I didn’t find this comment until now! I think Beloved needs to polish up her skills!!

      August 7, 2012 at 11:17 am

  5. Happy birthday to Beloved. Zac, I’m glad that you’re content with your family. I think the world of my bipeds, I’m still working on their training though – no harm in striving to improve!

    August 1, 2012 at 2:32 am

    • Thanks Clowie, i’ll pass on your Happy Birthday. Aren’t we lucky? I have had eight years to try and perfect Beloved in a few of her weak areas. I’m not sure I can make any further improvements but a tweak here or there is always to be hoped for. I am working on the sausage treats at the moment. I think it would be easy for her to cook sausages once or twice a week for our treats. She is weakening, I can tell! 🙂

      August 1, 2012 at 12:55 pm

  6. Hello from 2 Tibetan Terriers to another 2 Tibetan Terriers!! 🙂 Nice to meet you! I knew there had to be more TTs on the internet

    August 2, 2012 at 1:37 am

    • Hello there Tibby and Dhali. We’ve been checking in on you two from time to time and think you are both very cute 🙂

      August 2, 2012 at 10:45 am

Leave a Reply

