My story, faithful friend, happy companion – a dog.

Bye Bye Brie

This week has been a bit tough which is why I haven’t posted before now.

Little Brie settled in with us very well. For the first few days she needed all of her toys and her lead close to her, it was as if she felt she might be dragged away at any moment and she didn’t want to go too far away from the things that had begun to mean stability to her, her little teddy, her bed, her woollen coat and her pink lead.

After a couple of days she decided that Beloved could hang the lead up with ours. Then Beloved began to get a bit concerned. Was she going to be able to let this little dog go? Would she get too attached to her? It would be so easy just to keep her but would be that the best thing for Brie or us?

Beloved thought photographing a white dog would be easier but she didn’t allow for the fact that The Puffball didn’t stay still!

Negotiations began with an elderly lady who thought Brie would suit her. She wasn’t too sure though and when Beloved learnt that this lady was out a great deal and The Puffball would spend these days out in the garden she was concerned. The Puffball is a sociable little girl who has always had a furry pal to be with.

Beloved didn’t own The Puffball, we were only looking after her for C, the person who took the responsibility of re-homing her. When Beloved told C that this lady wanted to keep Brie outside a lot she too felt the home wouldn’t be right. The last thing anyone wanted was for another re-homing to go wrong.

So The Puffball stayed and settled even more and began to enjoy our routine.

The Princess and The Puffball (sounds like a fairy tail), enjoyed playing together. They had moments that Beloved called their ‘silly sessions’ where they ran around and around and then they had the rough and tumble playtimes when The Princess would lie down and The Puffball would nibble her ears and dart at her from corners of the room.

I know though that Beloved has been concerned about me and I wish I could help her.

I went to visit my favourite vet earlier in the week for a couple of vaccinations. He admitted that the last medication I was on had aged me and that I was intolerant to it. He hoped that if I lost a little weight the pain for my muscles and joints would ease.

I wasn’t so happy about hearing that and have been watching Beloved carefully to make sure she hasn’t cut my food down, but it appears that I will lose weight simply by not being on the medication any more so that is okay.

Maybe it was the stress of having The Puffball with us, you know an extra female to look out for, but I have just been so tired.

This is how I have spent the last few days with the occasional (and I mean occasional) trip to the garden.

I have been willing to go out for my walk in the morning because it is after all routine, but beyond that I have just wanted a bed to sleep on. At night I have found it hard to jump onto Beloved’s lap. She has picked me up and then I’ve just slept all evening.

I think it’s called fatigue or something because I just can’t seem to shake the lethargy.

The Princess however has had a different problem develop this week, not a physical one.

The Puffball had been with us a few days and all of a sudden The Princess realised that she wasn’t the ‘baby’ any more. She wasn’t the smallest, the youngest or the newest member of the pack.

It was easy for me. I’m the boss. Okay, it was extra work having to follow them both around in the park and make sure they were behaving well and safe, but I know my place, just below Beloved and above the rest! It may be that this is why I’m so tired, the extra ‘autographs’ (as our pal Easy puts it) I had to correct by the girls.

Here was a crisis! The Princess has always been happy as the baby. She loves that role. She has never challenged me because she doesn’t want the responsibility. She likes being the carefree, careless one.

Beloved was very careful to keep treating The Princess as she always had. At night she cuddled Zena on the lap after I’d had my turn and The Puffball sat on Beloved’s beloved.

Nevetheless Zena felt different. She likes being the baby with me. She whines and wiggles and lies on her back until I give her whatever it is that she wants. It always works because I’m a big softie.

Could you resist that face? Those eyes? We couldn’t.

Now all of a sudden here is The Puffball using those same tactics on The Princess! Yep, karma again 🙂

She was shocked!

She began to see that it could be difficult if The Puffball were to move in. Where would she fit in? Would she continue to get the attention from Beloved that she is used to?

The simple answer is of course – No. Things were already different with The Puffball just staying with us. The pack dynamics changed and we would each have to accept our place. And the place for The Princess would change. She wouldn’t want The Puffball to be above her and so she would lose her baby status.

The Princess worrying about where she belongs in the new ‘blended’ family and wondering how to get a pink diamond studded collar like Brie’s!

I watched closely but I have to say The Princess stepped up to the responsibility better than I had imagined. She didn’t become jealous and insecure. She was generous and gracious.

When it was obvious that Beloved, whilst loving The Puffball, wasn’t going to replace the nightly Princess tummy rubbing ritual, she welcomed The Puffball and shared all her toys without any problem. She played with her and slept alongside her. We ate in the same room and were very polite about waiting until each one had finished before checking out their dishes. We all went for a walk in the dog park together and travelled in the car.

We taught The Puffball how to make sure that Beloved opens the back windows for us (whine and whine), and we told her all about the great smells in the garden and where to find the best ones.

She showed us her trick of dancing on her back legs when she was excited or wanted something, but she couldn’t teach it to us. We are squarer, heavier Tibbies not light as a feather Bichon’s.

The Puffball dancing. Can you see me doing that? I don’t think so!!!

We were all settling down nicely and The Princess was becoming resigned to the loss of her baby status and then Beloved found a forever home for The Puffball.

She made up some leaflets to put around the village and within an hour they were seen by a family who had rescued a dog smaller than The Puffball about six months ago. They have been looking for a little pal to play with their dog for a while and because they also had small children it had to be a loving, safe little friend.

When they saw the brochure Beloved had pinned up they were so excited they went running to find out all the details.

They took her an hour ago.

She was a little anxious when she saw her things being put together but she hopped into that car with four year old Jack without a backward glance. Last seen licking one very happy little boy all over his (no doubt tasty) smiling face!

Will we miss her? Yes!

Does the house seem empty? Very!

Are we glad she’s gone? Absolutely!

She was gorgeous, loving and special and she has gone to a home where she will have company, stimulation and lots of arms to cuddle her. It is amazing that such a little white dog can make such an impression on a home that it can feel empty now she’s gone even though the only thing to have left it is her.

Perhaps it is early to celebrate but somehow this home feels just right and I like to think that The Puffball knew it too because she went off so happily without a hint of anxiety in those beautiful big brown eyes or any hesitation in her dancing steps.

Now I have to go back onto my bed and hope that this tiredness passes soon and The Princess can go back to being the baby of the house!

Bye bye Brie. You’re a Puffball in a million and we will remember you with a huge smile. May your future be full of cuddles and sticky faces to lick. Hmmmm, maybe you could invite us over to play?

Thinking that The Puffball will be playing with her new family now and hopefully will not have a moment to even think about us.

23 responses

  1. Well, this seems to us to be the best of all situations. Puffball going to to a place with another puffball to keep her company. The children bit isn’t always easy for dogs but as the family already has one dog, they’ve probably learnt how to behave properly with it.

    So, Princess can go back to being the baby – that’s great and even better, you know that she’s a kind, sharing girl to have been so welcoming to the PB.

    As for you, dear Zac – not so great that you’re a tired fellow. Were you on steroids of some sort? They can make you feel great but they do pile on the pounds! Hope you get some energy back soon. You were ever the gent looking after PB in the park.

    August 10, 2012 at 9:57 pm

    • Yes, I really do think it is the best outcome. Yes, I was on steroids.
      I am now on some other expensive medication but Beloved is going to skip it for a couple of days to see if it is associated with my lethargy and weakness.
      Gives me time to lie and think 🙂

      August 11, 2012 at 7:58 am

      • So glad Beloved is checking the meds. If there’s a sudden change in how you feel, it should be looked into. Hugs to you 😉

        August 11, 2012 at 8:08 am

        • thanks, and I haven’t forgotten your lovely award, just not been able to deal with it yet (blush)

          August 11, 2012 at 8:15 am

        • Yes, I did see the vet a few days ago but I wasn’t so lethargic then. She has warned me that we’ll go back next week if I don’t feel better. Which reminds me, I didn’t get my treat last time, I should go back and get two!

          August 11, 2012 at 9:44 am

  2. I hope it works out well for Brie. Zac, I hope you’re soon feeling a bit more energetic – Beloved must be very worried about you.

    August 10, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    • She is! I’m getting lots of extra cuddles and lap time and just a few extra treats (she thinks I haven’t noticed).

      August 11, 2012 at 8:08 am

  3. This is a very sweet story and you told it very nicely.
    I hope you can feel better real soon though.
    Sending lots of purrs

    August 10, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    • Thank you. I personally have never heard a cat purr though Beloved tells me it is a very soothing hypnotic sound. She promises to find a youtube clip for me so I can really appreciate your thoughts 🙂

      August 11, 2012 at 8:09 am

  4. Ohhhh this was just so beautiful and touching, I have tears in my eyes! So happy that Brie has a little one to love and cuddle her, so glad that your “Princess” is now the baby again, how hard it had to be for you to let Brie go. Please keep us posted if you hear how Brie is doing. What a marvelous post this was! xoxoxoxo

    August 10, 2012 at 11:21 pm

    • Yes, we were all so pleased and although the house is very quiet we are thrilled to have found her a home and a home locally. the family run a store in the village so we have been invited in to check up on Brie and they have promised Beloved a free scarf (she loves shawls & scarves, always has!). I would have liked to have called in for a treat but this is not France and dogs are only allowed in the Pet Shop in our village.

      August 11, 2012 at 8:11 am

  5. I wish all the best for The Puffball !!! Hope you will get well soon.

    August 11, 2012 at 12:35 am

    • I hope so too and thanks Easy. I want to be well enough to run and get Big Dog for Beloved and enjoy my walks to the park again. I don’t ask for too much.
      Just a little stretch of the legs and then time to catch up on all my favourite blogs and read about the adventures of those a little more active than me which is pretty much everyone! Especially been enjoying your interior design stories. Beloved is always tearing down walls, repainting, renovating and only yesterday all the design ‘bits’ were taken away and new ones put out so I feel I am something of an expert on colours and interiors by now! 🙂

      August 11, 2012 at 8:14 am

      • I it possible that you and your Beloved can visit my crib before the next DIY-Project gets out of control?

        August 11, 2012 at 5:47 pm

        • 🙂 Easy. Easy 🙂
          Well really I suspect not so easy coz of being in OZ. Maybe if we both start digging now……….

          August 11, 2012 at 6:53 pm

    • Just managed to walk to the park so maybe things are looking up 🙂

      August 11, 2012 at 9:43 am

  6. and this is why rescue is so hard! I am glad she found a new home.

    August 11, 2012 at 8:49 am

    • Beloved has never been involved in finding a home before, always the one providing it and she found it very stressful. She is still recovering! We are all relieved that in the end it worked out so well and that she had a week with us to relax and be safe and to put the bad experiences behind her.
      We have a new admiration for those who take on rescuing and re-homing pets.

      August 11, 2012 at 9:47 am

  7. I’m happy Puffball found her forever home, but I can imagine how you must feel right now. Big cuddle for you 🙂

    August 12, 2012 at 5:50 pm

  8. aaaaaaaw Zac. Hope you are feeling better now. Being tired all the time is no fun

    August 18, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    • Thanks. Yes, I’m doing a lot better thanks. My awesome vet fixed me up with some pills to help with the discomfort of the arthritis and whilst I’m not exactly kicking up my heels, I am doing better which means Beloved is happier and then I’m happier and then Beloved’s happier…. and…. you get the picture 🙂

      August 18, 2012 at 6:35 pm

      • Awesome! I’m happy to hear that. Purrs to you and Beloved

        August 19, 2012 at 2:50 am

Leave a Reply

